Ruby On Rails Saved My Life

Or, how Ruby on Rails has made me a better programmer.

The best part of spending last year tinkering with Rails is that it opened my eyes. You could argue that it is just programming experience. But it is even better. I’m gonna get 90′s on you guys and say that it is like learning new subjects from ‘The Matrix’.

I call it instant gratification programming. I can feel like I’ve accomplished something any time that I utilize Rails. Not only that, but I feel like I can finally realize all my crazy thoughts on screen. I don’t have to worry about all the little issues anymore, so managing the complexity of the project is reduced.

On my legacy projects, I’m able to apply all sorts of aspects that Rails employs. Testing has to be the biggest thing. I had never approached test driven development before. Heck, I’m even exploring behavior driven developement now. Other great aspects are exposure to Ajax and even scripting in Ruby (yes, inspired by Rails to explore the language itself).

Rails and it’s mother tongue seem to amplify creative tendencies and so learning the language and framework are made easier. Let’s face it, not everyone is a reference book learner. I benefit from things like the screencasts and Why’s excellent resources. In effect, I’m a better programmer because my people are better programmers. Ruby is a good version of the pyramid scheme.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

