Turn For The Better

I might repeat myself a touch here.

I got my computer partially restored. I still don't have the 120GB hard drive, and I'm finally starting to accept it as a loss. The interesting bit is that before moving into my new place (yeah, the whole emancipation from sister-in-law thing which I don't recall explaining fully), I decided to dir /s my drive into a text file on another hard drive.

Had I the space to fully back it up, I would have. My nature, and new philosophy is to be more redundant. Moreso in computer data than real life, heh.

So I sent myself this E-Mail containing said text file of the now missing data, and here's where the whole rant/zen action comes into play:

Just data massage this shit and figure out what can/can't be restored…move on, watch shit tons of anime and forget that the world is cruel and material things are why we suffer.

–Josh

Now, when I say this. It's more of a personal note, hence less well formed. I'm not saying that I want to forget "material things are why we suffer" rather the cruelty of the material nature of my problem.

My dwelling on the whole debacle has been rather taxing on my relationships with everyone and everything I know. I want to move on. I'm finally feeling ready to accept this particular loss. Thus, the turn for the better.

I'm also pretty excited that I'll soon be back to modding Oblivion, watching anime, and balancing my other bajillion hobbies. I'm not ready to transcend my physical body. Heck, I'm just getting back into the swing of touching this mechanical beast that causes me so much pain.

So, before you go, remember this: If you get burned playing with fire, don't let that hold you back. Get some asbestos underoos and hop back into the flames. Saying that makes me understand that silly billboard of the surfer that suffered limb loss from a shark attack. "Me, quit? Never!"

Hah! It still makes me laugh. What a silly billboard. If my computer ever took my arm, I'd beat the crap out of it. Then I'd have it stuffed and mounted over my fireplace…if I had one. Finally, I'd buy a more obedient computer.

One Response to “Turn For The Better”

  1. Apologies if anyone is offended by my expletives in the E-Mail quote. That’s one thing that I don’t want to do in the blog, but I wanted to keep the realism of my E-Mail in tact. Not that the blog isn’t real. I just feel that expletives deplete the vocabulary of cool words.

Leave a Reply

